Grandfather Your Florida Registered Contractor License
Did you know that you can grandfather your Florida Registered Contractor license to a Florida Certified Contractor License? That’s right! Effective again as of July 1 2021 you can now qualify to work anywhere in the State of Florida without taking the state exam! See if you qualify by reviewing the requirements below.
How do I get started?
Starting with The License Company is easy! Please complete the form below which will transfer you to our more detailed grandfathering application. Additionally, it lets us contact you with any additional questions or in the case where the application is incomplete. This gives us the information we need to start your state application today and helps better determine your total application cost
Do I need to pass the state exam?
No, you don’t need to pass the state exam to grandfather your Registered Contractor’s license. However, you’ll need to meet a few other requirements. First, let’s look at the license types which can be converted to certified licenses using the grandfathering process.
What types of Florida Registered Contractors licenses can be grandfathered to Certified licenses?
The following license types can be upgraded to certified licenses using the grandfathering method:
- Pollutant Storage
- Sheet Metal
What other requirements must you meet to grandfather your Florida Registered Contractor license?
Surprisingly, there are a few other requirements to grandfather your license. They are as follows:
- The registered license must be valid and active with the Construction Industry Licensing Board for the past 5 years.
- Your registered contractor license must not have been revoked or suspended at any time within the past 5 years.
- Your license must not have been assessed a fine of $500 or more within the past 5 years.
Note: If you’re an inspector or building code administrator your license can be inactive. However, you’ll need to provide proof of 5 years of oversight in the license category of which you’re applying.
How much does it cost to grandfather a Registered Contractor license?
The state application fee is $305 or $205 depending on the time of submission and the fee is payable to the DBPR. While it may seem expensive at first, it’s relatively cheap when considering the costs associated with applying for a new, certified license. You’ll save money by forgoing the purchase of books, exam fees, and the time it takes you to study. Remember, the grandfathering option allows you to waive the state exam which is the major portion of the license cost.
How do I grandfather my Florida Registered Contractor license?
The first step is deciding if you want to do it yourself or use a professional licensing company like us! While you can certainly go it alone, many of our clients often look to us for help midway through the process. Their applications are usually deficient in more than area due to the strict review process by the DBPR and CILB. However, the majority of our clients start with us from the beginning which allows for a much faster submission and approval time.
How can The License Company help me grandfather my construction license?
We make the licensing process easy by completing, compiling, and submitting the required information on your behalf. We complete the license application on the state required forms (there’s quite a few), compile the necessary additional information required by the application, submit it to you for approval, and, lastly, submit it to the state on your behalf. Once submitted, we then monitor your application’s status and report back to you. If the state requires additional information, we then assist in obtaining the information and submitting it to the state for review.
How much will it cost to have The License Company prepare, complete, and submit my application?
Our license application processing fee is $199. This is exclusive of the state application fee of $305, business incorporation (if required), and other third party costs such as fingerprinting, credit reports, and insurance and bonding. Additionally, we can help you start a new business, obtain a registered agent, file a DBA, and much more!
State Contact Information
Department of Business and Professional Regulation
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399